Fonz and the Honk
What sums up cool like The Fonz? This is a man who ruled the Happy Days roost, who rides motorcycles, and apparently is very concerned about the welfare of children.
Now, my first response was to echo the sentiments of several of the YouTube Viewers: "this is hilarious," or "how could he keep a strait face?" But for the time being, I wont.
Yes, the vid is pretty funny, and a strange tactic to teach kids. What 8 year old, after all, knows what their diaphragm is? But, you've got to hand it to the Fonz-- he's really trying to make safety hip. Failing, perhaps, but giving it his best. And, with the amazing editing and multi-color graphics, at least some kind of token gesture was made to cool kid's videos and Sesame Street (an odd pairing, but then again, so is the Fonz and safety). Lets not forget those ridiculous "Stranger Danger" campaigns of the late 1950s. Maybe a little less hilarious now, but certainly square in a way the Fonz is not.
Of course, this video did get me to laugh out-loud. There is no denying that. I especially love how they play Fonzie's "uhhhhh" three times in a row. But, I guess I feel bad about laughing at something so well intentioned. Its like laughing at the kid who tries too hard. Its funny, but isn't it also kind of sad?
